Jess Walter

Ok, so anyone who knows me knows I have developed quite a book crush on Jess Walter. A book crush, for those people who are unaware, is where I feel no attraction whatsoever to the author but am drawn inexplicably to his or her books.

Jess used to write for the Spokesman-Review and then moved on to writing books.

I would recommend them to anyone.

He visited our campus a couple of weeks ago. Unlike a prepared journalist, I didn’t take notes nor did I blog about it right away so I can’t give you a detailed account.

What I can do is tell you about one thing he said that stuck with me.

If journalism is your passion, he said, stick with it.

This is a really hard time for a journalism student to try to get out in the newspaper world. I have been turned down by countless newspapers and ignored by others.

But I love journalism.

Someone recently asked me if I had thought about what my Plan B would be.

Well, newspaper world, I am not done with Plan A yet.

So be prepared.

Leave a Reply

