It’s retail, but it sure ain’t therapy…

I have recently given up on the hope that some big, important newspaper job will lure me out of Pullman and into the real world. At least not in the next few months.

But, my measly five hours a week at the bookstore are not going to pay the rent. So I have embarked into the wonderful world of job applications galore.

There are a few things about retail job applications that really piss me off. Mostly, though, it is the random questionaires that are inevitably attached to the end of them. Where you have to select anything from strongly agree to strongly disagree in order to help your could-be employers know your “personality.”

Two things employers:

1) There is no way you can discern anything about me from some questions with multiple choice answers.

2) It’s called lying.

I consider myself to be a pretty good person. When I say I have never stolen anything from work, I mean it. However, it would be more than easy to click strongly disagree on “I think doing drugs at work is ok” and then show up high for your first shift.

These questions don’t show you how good of an employee I would be.

That being said, I Strongly Agree that “I love to work with people” and Strongly Disagree to “I quit working if I feel the job is not challenging enough.”

I can has job now?

2 thoughts on “It’s retail, but it sure ain’t therapy…

  1. Lynsi says:

    Briana, I will give you $20 to click “strongly disagree” on “I think doing drugs at work is OK” and then show up high for your first shift.

    That being said, those surveys are ridiculous and condescending. Been there.

  2. brianajae says:

    Make it $200 so I can still pay my rent even without the meaningless job and it’s a deal.
    = )

Leave a Reply

