Things I love: Smallville Edition

Ok, so everyone who knows me knows I have a bit of an addictive personality. Meaning I get hooked to things REALLY easily. And if I like a particular show/author/movie series, I will not rest until I have consumed everything from said group.

One thing that completely captivated me years ago and has held my attention is Smallville. The show follows the story of young Clark Kent. It takes place (for the most part) when he is a teenager growing up on a small farm in Kansas. He starts to discover his powers/find out he’s an alien in season one. We are now in season nine and there is still not a cape or pair of tights in sight.

Well, Briana, did you start watching Smallville because you really liked Superman? Did you want to see how the story would live up to the comic books?

No.

I started watching for one simple reason.

This face:

Photo from cwtv.com

Meet Tom Welling, who plays Clark Kent.

I soon discovered, however, that this show has more to offer.

Don’t get me wrong, there are a LOT of pretty faces. Even the evil guest stars are attractive. I would even go so far to say that this show has one of the best looking casts on television right now.

But it also has more.

For the most part it started off like any other teenage/high school drama with one minor difference: super powers. It is different, though, because it actually introduces other problems. Sure, Clark has to face a different villain each episode and also the continuing villainy of Lex Luthor. Also, he has to continually battle with himself to discover who the “real Clark Kent” is. Is he more human or more krypton?

The show is addicting, that’s for sure. It is also one of those shows that you have to watch all the way through in order to understand. It isn’t one of those shows that you catch while flipping through channels.

I have become completely emotionally attached to the characters (big surprise). There have been many, many tears accompanying viewing of certain episodes.

So far that I was watching at someone else’s house one time and another viewer came up to me and said “you know this is just a tv show, right?”

Yes, I know.

But it is good.

It may be one of my guilty pleasures but I still recommend it to anyone.

Seriously.

Oh, and I have moved past Tom Welling. There is a new love in my life.

Justin Hartley. Aka Green Arrow.

Photo from cwtv.com

One thought on “Things I love: Smallville Edition

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Oh, Briana…. I miss your utensil reenactments of smallville and other such dramas 🙂

Leave a Reply

