I like to move it, move it.

I am going to start running.

There, I said it.

Why did I post this on my blog?

For the same reason that when I decided I was going to ask a boy to a school dance in high school I told approximately 109,743 people about it beforehand.

So I can’t chicken out.

So I depend on you, lovely readers (meaning my mom and Rikki) to make sure I keep up with this late night decision.

Up until now I have been an avid non-runner. I vocally expressed my dislike of running. Only run if big, scary things with lots of teeth are chasing you. And only if they are slow. If they are fast, you might as well just wait to get eaten.

That isn’t to say I didn’t enjoy gym class. I actually did, which surprised myself. I love playing games with other people. Basketball, pickleball, volleyball. Anything as long as you weren’t paired with the jerk that took class way too seriously and would yell at you if you messed up.

But running just for running’s sake? Not so much.

My crowning achievement was a ten-minute mile. Which I was (and still am, not going to lie) proud of.

But there comes a time in a girl’s life where she just wants to get into shape. It sometimes comes in conjunction of not really having a job and having nothing to tell people when they ask “So, what did you do today?”

So I have decided to take up running. I don’t have enough money to join a gym so this is pretty much my only option. Plus, I hear it is nice to get out there and alone with one’s thoughts.

My goal is to become healthy. At least healthier.

And being thinner would be nice too.

This is not because, as some would imagine, the media portrays women as stick-thin models that normal women can’t live up to.

I know I can’t live up to that standard.

I do, however, have some particularly attractive best friends. So my goal is to start giving them a run for a money when we go out.

Not that I don’t love being the funny friend or just one of the guys…

3 thoughts on “I like to move it, move it.

  1. You can take Belle if you want. She’s the best personal trainer there is!

  2. Rikki King says:

    wow! are you jogging outside?

    i have a hate-love relationship with running.

    do you have a good workout mix? should i make you one?
    do you have good shoes? that’s really important.

    • brianajae says:

      Yes, outside. Lol.

      And I am still trying to find a good mix. I am checking a couple pandora stations people made for working out.
      And no on the shoes thus far. But I can’t afford new ones, so mine’ll just have to do for now!

Leave a comment