March Book List

Woo! I am starting my second month of unemployed reading time.

Enjoy.

1. Why we suck by Denis Leary
I would be lying if I said I didn’t laugh out loud during this book. A lot. I would also be lying if I said my mouth didn’t drop open a couple of times in astonishment. Denis Leary is not one for political correctness or skirting around issues. Whether he is talking about how Oprah can save the planet or that we should skip waterboarding and instead make terrorists listen to Clay Aiken, Hannah Montana and Celine Dion as torture, he has a lot of points to make. I would recommend this, but only if you don’t take yourself too seriously. Remember, the subtitle of this book is A feel good guide to staying fat, loud, lazy and stupid.

2. Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynn Truss
This is a nerdy grammar book. Do you hate it when people use apostrophes in the wrong place? Well, if you do, this book is for you. It is funny, though, not dry like you would think a book about punctuation would be. It’s fun to read. Notice I said it’s. As in it is. Not its. That’s in the book. Enjoy.

3. Now & Then by Jacqueline Sheehan
This book was charming. It is about time travel (something that I have become fond of reading about since I read The Time Traveler’s Wife earlier this year). It also has a bit of other magic woven in. Bitter divorcee Anna and her juvenile delinquent nephew Joseph are transported back to 1844 Ireland. Anna is discovered by a poor Irish family on a farm and Joseph is taken in by a rich English colonel. The book chronicles their journey as they decide how they are going to leave again or if they even want to.

4. The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd
I read this book because I really loved The Secret Life of bees. This book was also very good even though it was far different. It was about a woman who goes to visit her mother after her mother cuts of her own finger, on purpose.  While trying to help her mother deal with  her problems, the protagonist discovers she has a bunch of her own. The book was interesting and had enough plot twists to keep me reading. It was by far my least favorite of the two but I would still recommend it.

5. When you are engulfed in flames by David Sedaris
So customers have recommended I read Sedaris’ books for quite some time but I had never gotten around to it. I did this month and plan to read more of his books very soon. One of my favorite authors is Augusten Burroughs and Sedaris has some similarities. His autobiographical works are collections of short essays detailing humorous or interesting things that have happened to the author over the course of his life. Of course, as soon as Sedaris started talking about his life partner, Hugh, I knew I had made the correct choice to start reading.

6. Blink by Malcolm Gladwell
I read this because Rachelle told me that she really enjoyed Gladwell’s books. While I don’t normally enjoy nonfiction that is neither autobiographical  nor funny, I really enjoyed this. It was interesting and made me think about things in new ways. It kept my attention, something informative books generally struggle to do, and actually taught me things too. I plan to check out other books by this author as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

