A bit of news

Sooo…. I recently entered the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.

Basically, this is a contest for people who have written previously unpublished books.

The winner gets a contract with Penguin and a $15,000 advance.

They accept 5,000 entries each in Fiction and Young Adults Fiction. I entered in Young Adults.

Of those 5,000, they select 1,000 to move on to round 2.

I was one of those 1,000.

The next round, announced March 22, will narrow the field to 250.

While I do not expect to make it that far, I don’t think I can express how giddy I was upon learning I made it into round two.

I mean, that means I am in the top 20 percent of people who entered, and that has to count for something! Right?

6 thoughts on “A bit of news

  1. DC says:

    WooHoo! However, I am not surprised!

  2. LuAnn Morgan says:

    Oh, Briana! This is wonderful news! Congrats!

  3. Jenny says:

    Briana this is wonderful! You are so talented and I knew your novel would go far! I’m so thrilled for you! 😀

  4. Lynsi says:

    Squeeeee! I wanna read it!

  5. Rachelle says:

    What!? How did I not know you entered this! That’s so awesome! 🙂 Je t’aime!

  6. Charlotte says:

    It counts for everything my dear!!

Leave a Reply

