Being a grown-up

I have friends that are currently freaking out about going to work and not having a summer vacation, etc. I’ve been in the “real world” work force for almost a year and a half. Bleck.

I thought of that when I read this passage, from Jennifer Weiner‘s new book, Then Came You.

Once you’re done with school, summer doesn’t mean what it used to. Every day was a workday, and the only way the seasons mattered was whether it was light when I left for the office and when I came home, and what I’d wear from Kimmie’s apartment to the subway. Once I was at work, time and weather disappeared. The office seemed to generate its own climate, hot and humid, the air thick with stress and gray with unhappiness.

2 thoughts on “Being a grown-up

  1. LuAnn Morgan says:

    Summer vacation? What’s a vacation? I’m going to go look it up on Dictionary.com …

  2. Lynsi says:

    Depressingly true. And screw people who get things like time off.

Leave a Reply

