You won’t meet anyone there

I recently finished reading The Help Kathryn Stockett. For the record, I did think it was as good as everyone says.

I’m actually pretty excited to see the movie, although I realize it will probably not be as a good.

That being said, I thought the following quote pertained to my life a bit. One of the main characters in the book is an up-and-coming writer. Her mother isn’t too fond of the idea of her getting a job at the local newspaper. This will interfere with her husband-seeking, after all.

And you will never meet anybody sitting at that typewriter, Eugenia, have some sense.

This next one just made me LOL. Keep in mind the book is set in the ’60s.

Two days later, I sit in my parent’s kitchen, waiting for dusk to fall. I give in and light another cigarette even though last night the surgeon general came on the television set and shook his finger at everybody, trying to convince us that smoking will kill us. But Mother once told me tongue kissing would turn me blind and I’m starting to think it’s all a big plot between the surgeon general and Mother to make sure no one ever has any fun.

One thought on “You won’t meet anyone there

  1. Rikki says:

    I HEART that typewriter quote

Leave a Reply

