Thing one and thing two

I have this friend.

Her name is Charlotte. When I first joined the drama club freshman year in high school, I was immediately enchanted. She seemed like the most glamourous person I had ever seen. Perhaps because she was so different than all my other friends. She was in honors classes, too, but she wore different clothes and was so cool! Looking back, she was just as nerdy as I was, but I didn’t see it at the time. We were in the same math class in high school and totally geeked out in our love for the teacher. Yeah. We were nerds. But damn cool ones, if I do say so myself. Which I do, obviously.

Now, we are grown up. And still friends. Of course, after high school ended, we only saw each other every 2 years or so. But, while this is sad, we seem to pick up without any awkwardness or anything. I still think she is one of the coolest people I have ever met. Her lifestyle is just so different than mine. She works at a record store and lives at a big house in Portland, a bohemian artistic place in my mind, much different than the farmgirl life I have become accustomed too.

I spent some time with her this last weekend. We drank beer and ate approximately 90 pounds of potato products and laughed a lot.

And took a picture that brought me right back to high school. One year, we were cast in these bit parts in a play, the assistant stage manager number 1 and assistant stage manager number 2. It worked for me, because I always idolized her a bit. She ended up getting bumped up to being a waaaay bigger part in the play, unsurprisingly. I continued to dress like a man and order people around. So that was nice.

From the cast party:

When we hung out this past weekend, we recreated the number one and number dynamic, in the classic Charlotte-Briana style.
And then all was right with the world.
Leave a Reply

