It’s on the books

For 2011, I challenged myself to finish reading 60 books by the time 2012 showed up.

I finished 68. More than 23,000 pages.

Some were great, some weren’t.

The five best books I read this year (not that came out this year, just that I read this year) were (as of right this very second. Ask me in 20 minutes, they’ll have changed):

5) The Help by Kathryn Stockett

4) Drama: An actor’s education by John Lithgow

3) Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese

2) 11/22/63 by Stephen King

1) A shadow of the wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

Honorable mentions:

Bossypants by Tina Fey, Is everyone hanging out without me? (and other concerns) by Mindy Kaling, Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman, A visit from the goon squad by Jennifer Egan, Skippy Dies by Paul Murray and The book thief by Markus Zusak.

Here’s a nice display of all the books I read this year, starting from the most recent and working back.

One thought on “It’s on the books

  1. The Peach Keeper looks interesting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

