TILT Jan. 12, 2012

I’ve been reading a lot of memoirs lately. Like, a lot. And I tend to steer toward the celebrity and the comedian, which is probably unsurprising to anyone who knows me.

Right now, I am actually in the midst of two. Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain (which I should have started AGES ago when Rikki first lent it to me) and Born Standing Up by Steve Martin.

Both are great, but since I haven’t finished them, I don’t feel comfortable making a post about them just yet.

BUT, I did just finish My point…and I do have one by Ellen DeGeneres. It was pretty wacky, little jokes and set-ups. Not a memoir, just a funny little book.

My favorite passage was:

All kidding aside — actually, I change my mind. I don’t want to put all kidding aside. I want the kidding right there in front where we can all see it. The main point of this book is kidding. If I put all the kidding aside, there would be nothing left but nonkidding, and believe me, that wouldn’t make a very interesting book. So forget that: the kidding stays (or I go).

It just sums up the whole book for me.

In other news of Things I Love Today, today is the second episode of all-stars on a clothing design show I adore. Last night was the People’s Choice Awards.

I was struck by somethings odd today.

Two of the contestants from last week’s Project Runway made dresses from mop heads.

They looked like this:

Then, I saw a young TV actress wearing this dress to the PCA’s:

You guys are seeing this, too, right? Right?

2 thoughts on “TILT Jan. 12, 2012

  1. Nhan-Fiction says:

    Ooh, nice layout change. >^..^<

  2. Rikki says:

    Def. This may ruin overly loose fringe for me.

Leave a Reply

