TILT Feb. 23, 2013

What a day.

One of the best I’ve had in quite some time, I’d say.

It didn’t start off super, super great. I had to get up early for rehearsal after staying up late the night before. BUT, since someone in the play dropped out, I am now the understudy for the role of the stepmother in Cinderella. Which is pretty darn great. (I have my own performance May 4 in the afternoon, just FYI). So now I have a lot of lines to learn and have to become a good singer and all that jazz.

After a quick stop at home to get Brent, we got on the road again. Surprise, surprise.

This time, the destination was Spokane.

I had done a little research and discovered Manito Park. We stopped by and I’m so glad we did. I had snowed a pretty significant amount the night before, so I was a little worried it wouldn’t be fun to walk around in my less-than-suitable-for-wet-weather shoes. But it was fine.

More than fine.

Featured at the park is the Gaiser Conservatory, a greenhouse. It was warm, smelled beautiful and was full of brightly colored flowers, a nice contrast to the wintery wonderland outside.

From the moment I stepped in, I knew it would quickly become one of my favorite places. We just wandered around and looked at all the blooms, taking it all in. There was a bench that was just about the perfect spot.

We even had a young visitor. “This is a good resting spot!” the three-year-old-or-so girl said, throwing herself down on the path in front of us. She came back to visit us often and even danced a bit.

Anyways, I took too many pictures of flowers. Enjoy.

The outside areas of the park were also quite pretty. I can’t wait to visit in the spring, when things are green. There are outside gardens that should also be quite fantastic.

IMG_3256

Eventually, of course, it was time to get back in the and head on to new adventures. Food! It was one of those chintzy-ish pizza places. All the waitors wore funny hats or headbands and you could color on the paper tablecloth.

It was delightful.

IMG_3259Then we got back in the car and just drove out of Spokane a bit, just admiring the view. It was a gorgeous day out and I always love to see everything I can see. I am very well suited for the passenger seat and I am liking my new frequent appearance there.

IMG_3260

As if that wasn’t enough, after some stolling, shopping and a few drinks, it was off to the THEATRE.

After a quick look at the falls at night. Here’s a delightfully blurry picture for you.

IMG_3261

I saw the Drowsy Chaperone. Again. This was time number 6. But I was excited to introduce it to Brent and show him why I love it so much. This one had elements the others didn’t. I laughed, I cried, it was phenomenal.

I had a theatre high all the way home.

It was just a fantastic day, from beginning to end. Truly wonderful.

Oh, and one more thing, I have to be obnoxious, of course:

IMG_3235

One thought on “TILT Feb. 23, 2013

  1. Rikki says:

    Your performance is my nephew Kevin’s birthday. Hmmmm.

    Man, I want to check out Manito Park now!

Leave a Reply

