TILT the last eleventy billion years

AKA a note on mental health.

Hello again, my faithful readers. Here I am, getting back into the swing of things. I know I have made these promises before, so this one may seem hollow, but I am going to do it. I know you want to get back to obnoxious fuzzy selfies and annoying pictures of me and Brent. I know you do.

So I’m here to give them to you.

The last couple months have been a bit of a whirlwind. I starred in a play, we started putting more and more content in the paper, I took on too many things, I continued a long-distance relationship and went on many adventures.

First of all, the theatre will always be a TILT. I had to skip seeing a couple music to take on the role of the evil stepmother in Cinderella, but it was more than worth it. I have been lying to myself that I don’t miss being on stage. I’m a fan now and that’s OK. I get my dose of theatre magic in the form of observation. Even the last two plays I was in were more of me watching than me acting. But this time, I got to put on the high hair and too much make up and strut my stuff, literally, on stage. I am thankful to all the people who made the trek to see the show and I’m especially thankful to the strangers who approached me after they saw it, full of kind words. I shouted, I flirted, I wore things that were ridiculous and I got to shove or drop multiple people. Essentially a dream life.

I also got to hold Brent’s nephew for the first time. I am not a baby person, I am more likely to bond with toddlers than any other age. But this baby, perhaps because I know the struggle he’s gone through in his life, is one of the most perfect things I’ve ever seen. I could have held him for hours, truly. I look forward to watching him grow up.

I’ve also seen plenty of beautiful things. We went to the Walla Walla hot air balloon festival, one of the coolest things ever, we went to a special space wave observatory in Tri-Cities, I cooked some great foods, I saw Chicago, Little Shop of Horrors and Sweeney Todd, three of my favorite musicals, on stage. I went to movies, ate at phenomenal restaurants and generally enjoyed life.

For the most part.

I think it’s important to note that everyone goes through ups and downs in their life. No one is exceptionally happy or exceptionally sad all the time, unless they need some help.

So sometimes it takes me a bit to acknowledge that I should sort of reevaluate my life a bit. Make a few little changes that will make me more mentally healthy. I was exceptionally stressed during the play, with my other obligations, not even including the 60+ hours a week I’m at work. I was having so much fun though, I didn’t give it much though, other than rush rush rush.

After the play ended (and my final bell choir concert of the year happened the same weekend) I sort of fell apart. Work was at a full stress level and I no longer had anything else to distract me. I had good weekends of adventure but I was still struggling.

So I figured out I needed more time with myself. Just a few minutes a night to read and to write non newspaper things. 15 minutes a day with a book may not sound like much but for someone who literally has to schedule it in? Yeah, it’s a big deal.

So I have sorted things out and I feel healthier and happier.

And ready to TILT again!

Leave a Reply

