Wedding bells did ring (figuratively speaking)

So…I write a weekly column in my newspaper. I started writing it when I wasn’t blogging, as a substitute but with a wider audience.

And I realized you guys may want to read some of my favorite ones.

Here’s what I wrote about my little brother’s wedding:

(PS THIS IS NOT MY TILT, THAT’S STILL COMING TODAY)

 

Well, the end of wedding season is closing in on us. This weekend, I went to my second wedding of the summer (the first being back in June) and it was beautiful.
This one was a little different than any wedding I’d been to before, though. I showed up early, I put on my shiny olive green dress (with a skirt that was quite generous with the tulle) and stood with other girls while I did my hair and makeup. I held my bouquet and posed for pictures.
And then, as the bride walked down the aisle, I didn’t look at her walking in on her father’s arm.
Instead, I stared (eyes full of tears) at the young man watching her walk forward to start her life with him. The groom, my baby brother, earned my full attention. Side note: I know he would object to me calling him a baby brother, since he is much taller than I am and into his early 20s, but I don’t care. He’s always been my baby brother and he always will be my baby brother, even when we are in our 90s.
Like most siblings, we had our fair share of rivalry growing up. We definitely did not get along and there were certainly times I would’ve traded him away if I could. But that never lasts too long and now we’ve both moved on and started our grown-up lives, I’m proud to call him one of my best friends. Yes, he can still be annoying, but it’s funnier now than when I was a surly teenager. 
And I was honored to be asked to stand up in the front of the banquet hall to watch him pledge his love and devotion to a young woman who I’ve grown to love over the last couple years. She asked me to be a bridesmaid and I couldn’t have been happier to take on the responsibilities of the job. 
I attended rehearsal, I kept the bride company as she got ready on the big day, I ran errands, I helped her get into her dress (no easy task) and made sure she had everything she needed. And in return, I got a front-row seat to see my brother and new sister-in-law read the vows they wrote themselves, so specially fitted to their unique personalities. I laughed, I cried and I danced. Oh, did I dance. 
There’s something about weddings that makes even the most awkward dancers (me) kick off their heels (immediately) and hit the dance floor. I mean, how many of you can say you got to dance to disco with your grandmother this weekend? Or rock out with your mom? 
I’m so thankful to be a part of the day, both as a member of the wedding party and a family member. I instantly bonded with the other bridesmaids, securing newfound friendships, and got closer to the newest member of my family.
I’d also like to take this moment to thank the beautiful bride for choosing a bridesmaid dress with pockets. Because when you are watching your little brother get married, having a full packet full of tissues at the ready is a spectacular, spectacular thing.

Leave a Reply

